Site Meter novembre's diary

novembre

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

little kid look up

The fascinating people are attractive because they have figured out how to accompany themselves.

Here I think about Robinow and how he knows multiple instruments, how to make them answer each other. Raj made a documentary on Joel when they were undergraduates at UCSC -- I came across it on youtube years ago. In it, Joel is a shining beacon of untrampled, buoyant creativity. He is a young gangly giraffe, cracking jokes in love with Kate. And it somehow isn't weird that Raj made a documentary about him. It's fitting.

Most of the fascinating people are single, unless they have learned this feat over the years while coupled to someone amazing, who is hopefully becoming interesting in their own way too.

I think this is why fascinating people are by and in large part single. Perhaps experience is a double-edged sword, but at least it's an entertaining one. And if I ever post an OkCupid profile, it will say something like, I want you to hang out with me in my room while I study. Play the guitar, I'll learn the keyboards. Work on your stuff, I'll work on mine, play records, snack. When we do leave the house together, it will be for things like movies (The Red Vic, BAM/PFA, The Castro, that speakeasy in Albany maybe?, etc) drinks (the hotsy totsy? someplace with a deck) or food (i love food, but i'm broke, so i don't eat at expensive places)...or going book or record shopping. Really what I want is simple. I want a partner. You brave Trader Joe's with me one crowded day and I'll try to make you laugh with stupid jokes waiting in line. Then we wander out to wander out.

4:54 pm - 11.18.10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thesedays
hauntedheart
simoncamden
unibreast
oneblackbird
peanutduck
forthofjuly
hotrod
eeelissa
to the max
sobriquette
twobicycles
kinda-ruff
wrecking
whiskeyblood
when
missingteeth
supernalscar
splinterhead
spikyhead
sparrowsfall
shoeboxdiary
sheepiekins
orangepeeler
nookncranny
monstermovie
killerfemme
katherinhand
likeaforest
laststop
hthespy
hotbeat
hermex
heatstroke
gallinula
fuschia
facepunch
explodingboy
elanorinfini
edithelaine
ecriture
dirtylinda
dinosaurs
dustboogie
white-magic
casperwoo
central-red
crestone
allnitediner
ouijaboard