Site Meter novembre's diary

novembre

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sonic beauty

I asked Lynn: Do you ever get certain songs stuck in your head? If so, which songs? Do you ever get patches of melody in your head and you just invent words to go with them?

Songs? Too infrequently! I experience phantom sounds constantly when I'm "unplugged" (basic translation: I'm not wearing my CI. Unplugged is totally the wrong word, but the synonyms don't illustrate the element of turning off the electricity in my head) but they're far from intelligible and recognizable songs. Perhaps it's because I virtually have no auditory memory and my brain is wired in an intricate network of knots from electrical stimulation, or "artificial hearing" that does not resemble a person with normal hearing. Patches of melody? Yep, that's more like it. I construe them as strings of actual and fictitious conversations I've held with diverse real-life characters; I like to accompany the sounds with mental photographs too. My brain works as an Adobe Photoshop 7.0 and undergoes an imagination overhaul as I twist the words and manipulate the pictures. It's too much fun, really, and it earns me puzzled looks on the streets when I get too absorbed in it and end up breaking into hysterical fits of giggles out of the blue. If I disappear, you'll know they've taken me away and placed me in seclusion under tight security.

11:38 am - 02.05.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thesedays
hauntedheart
simoncamden
unibreast
oneblackbird
peanutduck
forthofjuly
hotrod
eeelissa
to the max
sobriquette
twobicycles
kinda-ruff
wrecking
whiskeyblood
when
missingteeth
supernalscar
splinterhead
spikyhead
sparrowsfall
shoeboxdiary
sheepiekins
orangepeeler
nookncranny
monstermovie
killerfemme
katherinhand
likeaforest
laststop
hthespy
hotbeat
hermex
heatstroke
gallinula
fuschia
facepunch
explodingboy
elanorinfini
edithelaine
ecriture
dirtylinda
dinosaurs
dustboogie
white-magic
casperwoo
central-red
crestone
allnitediner
ouijaboard