Site Meter novembre's diary

novembre

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

celebration time come on let's celebrate.

my mother was born on halloween, me a day after thanksgiving, my brother on groundhog's day, my dad a day after father's day, my grandma on friday the thirteenth.

i was thinking about my mom as a five year old, looking forward to her birthday party, hoping it won't be halloween themed again this year like the other ones. it wasn't. i have pictures of this party; the boys are in short-pant suits and the girls wear dresses with frilly sleeves. there are balloons and tired children sitting on the floor. my mother's curled hair is pulled back so tightly from her face that her forehead is aching. mom always hated that grandma styled her hair that way, killing her face and giving her pounding headaches. it never registered with grandma that a simple ponytail could cause so much grief, nor did my mom turn around and realise that i hated her combing my hair with a pick to get all the tangles out, rinsing my head in lemon juice, not letting me cut my mane, trimming my bangs crookedly, making me wear ribbons.

cascading images of love and pain, from mother to daughter.

small pains like papercuts or pinpricks. they are the things we remember when mom turns fifty-one and dad makes her wear a stupid witch hat and takes her to ts thai even though she hates thai food and wanted to wear her tiara.

11:35 pm - 10.31.2000

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thesedays
hauntedheart
simoncamden
unibreast
oneblackbird
peanutduck
forthofjuly
hotrod
eeelissa
to the max
sobriquette
twobicycles
kinda-ruff
wrecking
whiskeyblood
when
missingteeth
supernalscar
splinterhead
spikyhead
sparrowsfall
shoeboxdiary
sheepiekins
orangepeeler
nookncranny
monstermovie
killerfemme
katherinhand
likeaforest
laststop
hthespy
hotbeat
hermex
heatstroke
gallinula
fuschia
facepunch
explodingboy
elanorinfini
edithelaine
ecriture
dirtylinda
dinosaurs
dustboogie
white-magic
casperwoo
central-red
crestone
allnitediner
ouijaboard