Site Meter novembre's diary

novembre

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

incision

Dear Incision,


When I saw you in person, you made me tongue tied. Yes, I know, you are dwarfed by a rightfully epic work, but you are no mere sketch. Bruce Hainley calls you and others like you �epic abstracted self-portraiture�. I looked at you and realized that you were the yang to the mandala�s yin. Not just by reputation. You are the underdog to your sister painting The Rose. You were constructed out of the emotional scurf, out of the pure learning curve from working on a main piece. You were the neglected older child, the black sheep. You�re working class. You�ve been shown a lot of things you never asked to see; one can see this in your makeup. But you wear no mask, and sometimes you let your belly hang out because you feel you�ve earned that right. At 500+ pounds, you�re no small baby. In fact, you�ve grown out of Jay DeFeo�s angry side. You�re a strong underdog.

Jay worked on you side by side with The Rose for three years, before pushing you out and away and continuing on.

I would come and visit you during the museum�s 75 Years of Looking Forward exhibition whenever I had a free lunch break. You were my anchor, back then. I�d stare at your nooks and your sides and read about conservation. I was new; I had only been working at the library a few months. I could look at you and immediately feel Jay DeFeo, and all the information surrounding her place in art history, shooting off in tangential starbursts. I could look at your imperfections and find peace.


elka

10:35 pm - 02.01.12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thesedays
hauntedheart
simoncamden
unibreast
oneblackbird
peanutduck
forthofjuly
hotrod
eeelissa
to the max
sobriquette
twobicycles
kinda-ruff
wrecking
whiskeyblood
when
missingteeth
supernalscar
splinterhead
spikyhead
sparrowsfall
shoeboxdiary
sheepiekins
orangepeeler
nookncranny
monstermovie
killerfemme
katherinhand
likeaforest
laststop
hthespy
hotbeat
hermex
heatstroke
gallinula
fuschia
facepunch
explodingboy
elanorinfini
edithelaine
ecriture
dirtylinda
dinosaurs
dustboogie
white-magic
casperwoo
central-red
crestone
allnitediner
ouijaboard