Site Meter novembre's diary

novembre

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

soon

I wonder if cultural anthropologists think to work with advertising companies in order to share statistical findings. Nobody else except some information science nerds seem to care that Web 2.0, hypertext, tagging and metadata have changed the entire world. Now some futuristic science fiction posits seem completely plausible to me. Our technological leap is immense --

soon an organization's data will be clustered into a cloud network, and this will be the norm. Take for example Apple's cloud. They discuss their cloud network on their website, positioning it as to cover all their products for sale. But Apple products talk to each other, and programs are cropping up where you can elect to have your data instantly updated between your own technical gadgetry.

Soon thereafter people will be treated as organizations of data, and their personal information will form its own cloud. Internet connectivity will morph into control over electrical systems and other hardware. Take for example: trains.

(Public transportation will morph with Amtrak, and that is how Amtrak will stay afloat -- they will no longer position themselves as a novelty or a traveling tourist attraction, but as a method of connecting cities with each other. Think of the commute. They already ferry people daily to and from Sacramento. But anyway.)

My train ride back to Oakland after Thanksgiving: three hours into the trip, outside the bleak pockmarks on the outskirts of Fresno, the entire train shut down because of some glitch in its system. The next station was telling them they had a late train, so they stopped and waited for a bit. Then the train stalled for half an hour. They rebooted the train. Like one would a fussy computer. They rebooted it, and it worked, and we carried on.

Machines will be built to share information with like machines, and then with all machines.

Mass scientific inquiry into the collective psychology and overall health of groups of people (grouped by geographical location in order to map climate change through human systematic response, or grouped by sex, or grouped by economic status, or grouped by profession) will spark into fields of research for all areas of learning. Field testing will be done through collecting and processing shared cloud data. As the population increases, the need for data of this kind also increases. People who analyze and interpret this data will become or befriend politicians, and they will eventually influence public policy towards mass population control. Government commercials will compete for ad space, because collective messages must be sent, and the advertising world has long been exercising its agency. It is and has been everywhere, like a dense blanket we sweat underneath. Will books get confiscated and burned, information classified and restricted? Will overpopulation turn individuals into clouds, whittling away at humanity's self respect because there will be so many of us, everywhere, an infestation. How will the government govern in a mass population environment? What would they do with the research? What about open access, and the freedom of information act -- early steps against, happening now? People have predicted this. I don't know any of these people and I need to. People have got to see the link between overpopulation and economic windfall. Will our brave new world become Brave New World? I'm an optimist, so I opt for "unlikely" in my own personal magic 8 ball. Physical products will either become fuel or treasures. There will be no inbetween. We will have use, and we will have nostalgia.

I like living right when I am, watching all of this happen. I find it fascinating how society changes, how cultures evolve. I am going to fold this into the novel I'm working on. It's all very hard to keep the ingredients straight lately, what with the ADHD and the lack of time.

During commute I read a book on the fundamentals of music, because I figure I need to approach the guitar from a standpoint where I'm most comfortable and less likely to get scared or overwhelmed. I've decided to go with a book report.

Maybe my new public blog will be just that. A book report. I'll just discuss theory and a broad range of subjects, and I'll leave all of this emotive sharing to a more respectful arena. And I vow to make good use of the "preview entry" function before publishing a post to everybody's stream. I write like a person drawing a sketch, except the piece of writing is the object I'm drawing. Where am I drawing it out of? Myself. It's like reverse sculpture. Funny how my own writing process was a mystery to me until just now, and I hated myself for not being like everybody else.

Writing through feelings will always remain in my own cloud, though.

Wrote B an apology today. Every single day I think about how fucked up this situation is for her. For me, yes, but mainly her. I should have written that initial email to B, not J. Then none of this would ever have happened, or at least I wouldn't be aware of just how nefarious he could become, and I would have gotten what I wanted: to be left to get over my heartbreak in peace.

Whenever I see him, I am let down. I just can't believe the audacity of this guy. I can't believe he took away my hero! He was -- he was my hero.

I guess I just need to be patient and accept the situation as it is. I've tried to understand it by analyzing it from multiple levels, but fuck if I know how to fix this situation. I know that that this situation exists, and why. I know how he is stalking me, but I don't know how much of my information he's seeing or how to protect myself from his prying eyes. I'm moving on. I'm just going to pretend that he's the conspiracy theorist's idea of the invasive government. He's just.. there. This is just how it is. I hope one day he decides to face reality, because he sure as hell isn't. Anybody who stalks someone doesn't want to be with them, not really. They just want to make them disappear. That is not any sort of person I ever could trust, even if it's probably indicative of the future. At least as internet crime increases, criminals will get smarter. I always like it when people turn to knowledge. That's the true love of my life, one that will never punish just to punish. Facts exist, and I'm a realist.

And a daydreamer.

7:20 pm - 12.21.10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thesedays
hauntedheart
simoncamden
unibreast
oneblackbird
peanutduck
forthofjuly
hotrod
eeelissa
to the max
sobriquette
twobicycles
kinda-ruff
wrecking
whiskeyblood
when
missingteeth
supernalscar
splinterhead
spikyhead
sparrowsfall
shoeboxdiary
sheepiekins
orangepeeler
nookncranny
monstermovie
killerfemme
katherinhand
likeaforest
laststop
hthespy
hotbeat
hermex
heatstroke
gallinula
fuschia
facepunch
explodingboy
elanorinfini
edithelaine
ecriture
dirtylinda
dinosaurs
dustboogie
white-magic
casperwoo
central-red
crestone
allnitediner
ouijaboard