Site Meter novembre's diary

novembre

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I never know if odd dreams are interesting to anyone but the dreamer.

It is five-thirty in the morning, and I've just woken up from one of the world's strangest dreams. I'm trying to decide if I should just shelve sleep until Tuesday ends proper, or attempt to get my last hour and a half's worth of winks in.

But that was the kind of dream that you wake up, fully awake, from. The weird kind of dream.

We were in my current house, Pete and me, but old roommates and my mother were coming for a visit. Odd sleeping arrangements, impossibly high ceilings even more ornate than they are in waking life. At first it was funny, a kind of slumber party, and lots of bonding with Pete while everyone else tried to sleep. But then everyone else was awake, or different. My mother flashed Pete. Under the wallpaper: ancient comic book displays. A weird foam bubbling up from the polished but swelling redwood floors. Christmas lights and Heather couldn't sleep on the floor. Friends of Cassie's, but no Cassie, came over, still in the dead of night, to inspect and play. We smoked on the lawn and I held Angela while she told me she got evicted. Then she wouldn't look at me again, just moved on to another person in a more emotionally discreet manner. The friends of Cassie's, all boys obsessed with the past, tried to excavate the salon-like living room: hunting for Victorian comic displays, poking at the bubbling floorboards, pointing up at wood-paneled holes near the ceiling where you could see creatures wander.

They looked like bunny-rat-cats. They felt docile and non-threatening at first, but one of the boys pointed at what looked like an orange tabby sewer rat with fluffy square flap ears and said, "Rats are so great because they live for over sixteen years! And what's better, is: I bet they're mating!"

Then I was silent, and I listened to the house swell and creak.

5:30 am - 02.03.09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thesedays
hauntedheart
simoncamden
unibreast
oneblackbird
peanutduck
forthofjuly
hotrod
eeelissa
to the max
sobriquette
twobicycles
kinda-ruff
wrecking
whiskeyblood
when
missingteeth
supernalscar
splinterhead
spikyhead
sparrowsfall
shoeboxdiary
sheepiekins
orangepeeler
nookncranny
monstermovie
killerfemme
katherinhand
likeaforest
laststop
hthespy
hotbeat
hermex
heatstroke
gallinula
fuschia
facepunch
explodingboy
elanorinfini
edithelaine
ecriture
dirtylinda
dinosaurs
dustboogie
white-magic
casperwoo
central-red
crestone
allnitediner
ouijaboard