Site Meter novembre's diary

novembre

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

big footin' on the freeway

My station wagon is so big and old that it sways as I drive, and I just get into the rhythm of driving. It becomes a calming physicality, especially when put to music. Yesterday I was driving back from east Oakland on the 580, giant burrito and thrift scores en tow, blasting funk.

Just after the bend towards the Lakeshore and Grand Avenue exits, I noticed that the cars in front of me were slowing down. This was a Sunday afternoon: no congestion, no sirens or flashing lights. The car to my left came almost to a full stop before I noticed the green motor boat, unmoored and flopping like a fish out of water. A flopping fish going about sixty-five. It was rigged to wheels and looked like it had popped off of whatever vehicle was pulling it. I turned down Big Footin' and watched the boat: it seemed to nose against the freeway divider on purpose, looking for safe perch, but thought better of it and started coming at me instead.

I am one of those inventive day-dreamers: I instantly personify things that suddenly act independently, as if they've woken up from a sound sleep to find their own particular consciousness.

The boat dove-tailed in front of me, wagging its butt. My mouth hung open.

A two-seater speed boat. Green with white detailing. I was in the slow lane; I almost always am, thanks to my car's age. The boat nuzzled along the lanes until it stopped just ahead of me, and suddenly to my right, in the drainage lane, shoots up an SUV the size of a small school bus.

Must be the boat's owner: downcast expression like a spurned lover. He made eye contact with me as I edged around his quarry: he looked sad, and tired, and just about as bored with dry land as his boat.

He had a full gray beard, but he didn't look exactly seaworthy.

10:37 pm - 01.26.09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thesedays
hauntedheart
simoncamden
unibreast
oneblackbird
peanutduck
forthofjuly
hotrod
eeelissa
to the max
sobriquette
twobicycles
kinda-ruff
wrecking
whiskeyblood
when
missingteeth
supernalscar
splinterhead
spikyhead
sparrowsfall
shoeboxdiary
sheepiekins
orangepeeler
nookncranny
monstermovie
killerfemme
katherinhand
likeaforest
laststop
hthespy
hotbeat
hermex
heatstroke
gallinula
fuschia
facepunch
explodingboy
elanorinfini
edithelaine
ecriture
dirtylinda
dinosaurs
dustboogie
white-magic
casperwoo
central-red
crestone
allnitediner
ouijaboard