Site Meter novembre's diary

novembre

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

when the fur starts flying

action: polling friends on their opinions of dating people who dislike or are ambivalent to animals. (tongue firmly in cheek. very silly and honest. inexplicably amassed if you do not know the destination, but feel free to contribute your personal diatribes in the guestbook.)

reason: compiling possibly useless data.

underlying motive: you know, skirting a bit.

selections from various participants:

it says a lot about a person, how affectionate and compassionate they can be.

i have never had a house pet. i also dislike hugging, casual touch, or any public displays of affection. i have no idea if the two are related.

the last straw was about a dog. i wasn't committed to having a dog, but he told me that i could never have one. and that really bugged me.

I dated a girl who claimed to love animals, but when it came to the issue of cats she just would not own up to the fact that she hated them. I remember the first time I asked her about cats, she said she was allergic to them, but we had spent a lot of time at a friend's home where he and his four roommates owned three cats, and she certainly didn't look allergic to them. Later it was: 'they're evil', 'they're unclean', and finally 'they bite people'. She loved dogs though. It was interesting because we discussed pets and the control their 'owners' exerted over them -- cats tend to be independent and can take care of themselves while dogs aren't like that -- then we broke up when she kept trying to change me to fit her concept of a 'perfect' man.

my animals have always been my kids. could you imagine dating someone who didn't like your kids? it wouldn't make any sense.

i would probably be potentially wrongfully optimistic that my animal would convince them how great animals are. unless they were violent towards animals.

i just dont get it. i mean what was with the 5th grade boy mentality? grow up. especially someone that claimed to agree with PETA and supposedly cared about animals enough to be a vegetarian, yet he tortured anything that wasnt a cat. because apparently cats rule all.

I don't understand them, but I can't stand babies and a lot of those people think I'm weird and evil for that.

I just have a hard time understanding people who don't have animals at their house, you know? Or the people who have pets, but you wouldn't know because they never talk about them. I talk about Skiddy like 20 times a day. She's my baby.

But to answer your question, I don't think it makes them less compassionate or affectionate. I think it's just a different way of being. We animal people are just different (coughbettercough) than non-animal people.

I don't like cats and dogs (or animals, for the most part) very much. Especially when they touch me. I like my own dog, and a cat I had until recently, but I think this is more because I grew up with them. I also don't like hugging (that much) and PDA's, but I think I'm fairly affectionate.

I really worry when i see people who passionately DISlike animals. Especially cats and dogs.

The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated. - Gandhi. as for me, I like my cats better than i like most people. in fact, my dear friend and i both gauge people by how much they like animals. mwahahaha!!!

since overcoming my dog fear in high school, i have become ULTRA-FOND of them, and i want one as soon as my living situation permits. i am not a huge cat fan in general, mainly because i am allergic to them, but i do have a few cat friends (shout out to my 4-legged boys).

it depends on the level of dislike. if they are mean or cruel to animals, i have a hard time trusting them (or thinking they are compassionate). but if it's more like a wariness or uncomfortableness around animals, then i just assume they haven't spent much time around animals.

i guess the gray area is when people who let their wariness of animals turn into meanness towards animals as a self-defense mechanism. which seems totally possible and hard to determine. and perhaps no more forgiveable.

i dont trust people who have no reason for not liking animals.

analyzation of data query thus far:
1- results not typical.
2- results depend on not only the nature of the relationship and both individuals' past experiences, but their associations, opinions, and relations.
2 & 1/2- and allergies.
3- people who love animals are fanatic about it to widely varying degrees.
4- preemtive data queries are pretty much useless, but are interesting to read.
5- i have never met anyone like you before.

1:46 pm - 06.23.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thesedays
hauntedheart
simoncamden
unibreast
oneblackbird
peanutduck
forthofjuly
hotrod
eeelissa
to the max
sobriquette
twobicycles
kinda-ruff
wrecking
whiskeyblood
when
missingteeth
supernalscar
splinterhead
spikyhead
sparrowsfall
shoeboxdiary
sheepiekins
orangepeeler
nookncranny
monstermovie
killerfemme
katherinhand
likeaforest
laststop
hthespy
hotbeat
hermex
heatstroke
gallinula
fuschia
facepunch
explodingboy
elanorinfini
edithelaine
ecriture
dirtylinda
dinosaurs
dustboogie
white-magic
casperwoo
central-red
crestone
allnitediner
ouijaboard