Site Meter novembre's diary

novembre

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i hope there are therapists on the airplane

one.
my mom and i were discussing pregnancy, genetics, abortion and diet coke last week.

in the middle of telling her that i found two twelve-packs of diet coke for three dollars the other day, she cuts in with before they let me get my abortion i had to see two shrinks. two shrinks!

this makes me think of how i randomly cut in on people -- apparently i have my mother's gift of thinking about five different things at once. directly inside this thought i feel guilt for not registering immediately that my mother just blurted out that she had an abortion, and this misstep clearly identifies me with my father.

i think:
i am an amalgamation of my parents, i am frankenstein. we are all little frankensteins wobbling about on our homemade knees trying to decipher complex facial expressions
but what i say is:
my friend is pregnant.

i know. you told me last week, she says.

i can tell she is about to further detail said abortion when my stomach starts to pinch down on my intestines. i rub my hand across my belly and cut her off before she even speaks: can we talk about this in person? as in, not on the phone? i'm gonna be down next weekend, anyhow.

two shrinks! she says. but that was 1971.

two.
on saturday my mother informs me that when she woke up as they were wheeling her out of the operation room on that fateful day in 1971, six years prior to my brother's birthday, she was singing.

singing?

singing. positively singing.

i am in awe. not because she had such control and determination over her body and direction that her vocal chords chimed in their agreement, adding their two cents to the moral argument, not because she sang in public and never has in my lifetime,

but because this was the missing piece that links everything i know about her life, when she was my age, together in neat chronological order. the one year of college. the parents' house. the jobs. and then my father and his ragged salesmanship, making her pull over so he could lean through the driver's side window of a car she didn't buy from him to turn the radio to a station playing "sweet virginia" by the rolling stones.

three.
i have returned from visiting my mother, and i have spoken to the pregnant friend about turkey bacon, catnip and bad argumentative essays.

the pregnant friend has decided to abort.

a week before she goes on a business trip to new york.

9:23 pm - 10.13.03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thesedays
hauntedheart
simoncamden
unibreast
oneblackbird
peanutduck
forthofjuly
hotrod
eeelissa
to the max
sobriquette
twobicycles
kinda-ruff
wrecking
whiskeyblood
when
missingteeth
supernalscar
splinterhead
spikyhead
sparrowsfall
shoeboxdiary
sheepiekins
orangepeeler
nookncranny
monstermovie
killerfemme
katherinhand
likeaforest
laststop
hthespy
hotbeat
hermex
heatstroke
gallinula
fuschia
facepunch
explodingboy
elanorinfini
edithelaine
ecriture
dirtylinda
dinosaurs
dustboogie
white-magic
casperwoo
central-red
crestone
allnitediner
ouijaboard