Site Meter novembre's diary

novembre

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

improperly clutching

(take the third elka test.)



there is a black and white snapshot of my parents in the early seventies on my desk. i love this picture, my dad in a leather vest, john lennon sunglasses and mutton-chop sideburns.

my mother in a long-sleeved striped shirt, her hair pulled back at her temples, her hand improperly clutching a glass of wine.

both are grinning and probably drunk.

everyone who sits at my desk notices it, but differently. girls focus on my mother and comment on her expression, which is so typically my mother. smiling so wide her tounge pushes against her bottom row of teeth.

after a pause, they tell me how beautiful she is.

boys fixate on my father. he is slouching forward, towards the camera, while my mother is off to the left, her body turned away. they don't say much but boys can't stop looking at him.

in the snapshot, my parents are obviously not posed. they are at some darkly-lit san franciscan bar, in the beginning of their marraige. they are around the same age that i am now. looking at an old picture of someone at the age you are now is a little mystic. you wonder if they remember how it was, and you see it in the faces, that they at least used to know.

the people in my family retain their distinct features from birth. you could see a photograph of my mother age 8 months and compare it to this snapshot, and you'd know it was the same person.

if you would hold this weathered snapshot up to my face, you'd see both of them, prominent, but inseperable.

2:39 pm - 02.03.02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thesedays
hauntedheart
simoncamden
unibreast
oneblackbird
peanutduck
forthofjuly
hotrod
eeelissa
to the max
sobriquette
twobicycles
kinda-ruff
wrecking
whiskeyblood
when
missingteeth
supernalscar
splinterhead
spikyhead
sparrowsfall
shoeboxdiary
sheepiekins
orangepeeler
nookncranny
monstermovie
killerfemme
katherinhand
likeaforest
laststop
hthespy
hotbeat
hermex
heatstroke
gallinula
fuschia
facepunch
explodingboy
elanorinfini
edithelaine
ecriture
dirtylinda
dinosaurs
dustboogie
white-magic
casperwoo
central-red
crestone
allnitediner
ouijaboard